Legal Tool Index

Free legal AI tools in 2026: what the free tiers actually include

Last updated: 3 September 2026

"Free" does a lot of work in this market. It covers permanent plans you can run a business on, seven-day trials, demos gated behind a form, and freemium tiers that stop at the point the tool becomes useful. Of the 62 tools we track, two run a genuinely permanent free plan.

What is actually free, permanently

ToolWhat the free plan coversWhere it stops
GenieAIDrafting and clause-level risk review with no time limitVolume and advanced review; Pro is $75 a month
TermlyOne basic policy and 10,000 cookie banner viewsMultiple policies; Starter is $10 per site a month

That is the whole list. Every other free offer on this site is time-limited.

Trials, and how long you get

ToolTrialCard required
Xakia14 daysNo
Spellbook7 daysNot stated
Rocket Lawyer7 days, on all three plansYes
Gavel7 days on the first three tiersNot stated
Clio ManageOffered; length not publishedNot stated
JosefOffered; length not publishedNot stated

Fourteen days without a card is the most generous arrangement here, and it is the only one that lets you evaluate without a diary reminder and a cancellation. Seven days is enough to test whether a tool works on your documents; it is not enough to test whether your team will adopt it.

The categories with nothing free at all

Six of the eleven categories we cover have no free tier and no published trial anywhere in them: contract management, eDiscovery, legal spend, entity management, compliance monitoring and IP portfolio management. In each, evaluation means a sales process and usually a demo environment built for you.

That is not vendors being obstructive. These tools do nothing useful until they hold your data, and loading a representative sample is itself a project. It does mean that in those categories the phrase "free trial" in a search result is almost always a listing site rather than the vendor.

The general-model option

Worth naming because it is what most small businesses reach for first: a general assistant will explain what a clause means for pennies per document. Mistral publishes usage pricing from $0.02 per million tokens, and the consumer tiers of the major assistants are free.

What a general model cannot do is remember the positions you accepted last time, tell you what is missing from a contract rather than what is in it, or leave a record of what it advised. For reading one contract it is the right tool. For signing the same agreement repeatedly and wanting consistency, it is not.

How to use a trial properly

Method

Free plans and trials are taken from each vendor's own pricing page, checked in September 2026. Where a vendor states a trial exists without publishing its length, we say so rather than assuming the usual fourteen days. Trials that require a sales conversation to start are not counted as trials here, because they are demos.